Wdhec

August 30, 2022

In March 2022, the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) notified
healthcare providers and schools of required vaccinations for school attendance for the 2022-2023 school
year. The notification included a requirement for a dose of Tdap on or after the 10*" birthday for students
in grades 7-12. DHEC is revising this requirement to include students only in 7" grade. These students will
have 60 days from the start of school to meet this requirement for the 2022-2023 schoolyear.

Students in grades 8-12 are strongly encouraged to have a Tdap after the 10™ birthday but the
requirement for these students remains a Tdap on or after their 7" birthday. The following contains the
revised 2022-2023 Requirements for Childcare and School that include the Tdap revision.

Each year the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) provides the South
Carolina Immunization Requirements for Childcare and School. This communication provides the school
and childcare entry requirements for immunizations for the 2022-2023 school year. Included are general
guidance and specific requirements for childcare and school guidance.

Childcare and school immunization requirements are minimum requirements. Several other vaccines are
recommended to protect all children against diseases. Although they may not be required for childcare or
school entry, DHEC recommends all age-appropriate vaccines for children.

Changes for the 2022-2023 School Year

e 7™ grade: one (1) dose of Tdap vaccine on or after the 10" birthday (child has 60 days from
the start of the 2022-2023 schoolyear to meet this requirement)

e 8™ grade: two (2) doses of varicella vaccine (a child with a positive history of the disease is
considered immune and is exempt from this requirement)

e 10" grade: three (3) doses or oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at least one (1) dose
received on or after the 4% birthday

e 2" grade: two (2) doses of hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the first
birthday and separated by at least 6 months.

The current version of the SC Certificate of Immunization is the DHEC 4024 form. The extended grace
period that DHEC had permitted for the use of the prior version, the DHEC 2740 form, ended June 30,
2022. DHEC 2740 forms with issue dates on or after July 1, 2022, will not be valid. Doses documented on
the SC Certificate of Immunization (DHEC 4024) must be valid according to accepted practice standards.
DHEC supports the provision of all recommended vaccines in accordance with the Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices (ACIP) and CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization.

We appreciate your continuing efforts to protect South Carolina children from vaccine-preventable
diseases. Any questions may be directed to DHEC’s Immunization Division at 800-277-4687 or
immunize@dhec.sc.gov

Sincerely,
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Jonathan Knoche, MD, MPH, MSt Stephen M. White, MHAMedical
Consultant, Division of Immunization Director, Division of Immunization
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General Guidance for South Carolina Immunization Requirements

A valid South Carolina Certificate of Immunization for all enrolled children, 3 months of age and older,
must be maintained by public and private childcare facilities (as defined in SC Code of Laws Section 63-
13-20); public, private, and parochial schools, grades kindergarten through 12 grade; and child
development programs under the control of the Department of Education.

South Carolina state law requires a valid SC Certificate of Immunization or valid exemption. Children
without a valid certificate or exemption will not be allowed to attend childcare and/or school. Failure to
comply with this law may result in audits and/or legal action.

Doses documented on the immunization certificate must be valid doses according to accepted practice
standards for the minimum age(s) and intervals, as well as all ACIP vaccine specific recommendations and
CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization.

For unvaccinated or incompletely vaccinated children, refer to currently published ACIP Catch- Up
Schedule for number of doses necessary to complete the vaccine series and meet the requirement.

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 61-8, students
may be exempt from these immunization requirements for the following reasons:

Medical Exemption: The Medical Exemption section of the SC Certificate of Immunization should only be
completed when a child has a permanent or temporary medical reason for exclusion from receipt of
vaccine(s). The Medical Exemption section must be completed by a licensed Physician (MD or DO) or
his/her authorized representative (e.g. Physician’s Assistant or Advanced Practice Registered Nurse). For
temporary medical exemptions, an expiration date in the future should be documented when next
immunizations are due.

Religious Exemption: A religious exemption may be granted to any student whose parent, guardian, or
person in loco parentis signs the appropriate section of the South Carolina Certificate of Religious
Exemption stating that one or more immunizations conflicts with their religious beliefs. The South Carolina
Certificate of Religious Exemption can only be obtained from a DHEC health department. The parent or
guardian must sign the DHEC form in the presence of a notary.

Special Exemption: A SC Certificate of Special Exemption may be issued by the school to a student that
has been unable to secure immunizations or documentation of immunizations already received. This
exemption is only valid for 30 calendar days for the current enrollment and may be issued only once.

Resources

ACIP vaccine recommendations: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/index.html ACIP schedules
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/index.html

CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-
recs/general-recs/index.html| Minimum ages and intervals
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/A/age-interval-table.pdf -
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South Carolina Immunization Requirements for Childcare 2022-2023

The following minimum requirements are necessary for childcare. These requirements will be effective as
of July 1, 2022. This includes preschool attendance for 4K programs and younger. A South Carolina
Certificate of Immunization with an expiration date is acceptable to allow for age-appropriate
completion of vaccination series. No child can attend childcare or preschool for more than 30 days past
the expiration date of the certificate.

By This Age Minimum Number of Required Doses

3 months!? 2HepB | 1DTaP? | 1 Hib3 1 PCV13* 11PV

5 months 2HepB | 2DTaP? | 2 Hib® 2PCV13* | 21pV

7 months 2HepB | 3DTaP? | 2-3Hib® |3PCVi3* |21IpV

13 months 2HepB 3 DTaP? 2-3 Hib® | 3 PCcv13* 2 1PV

16 months 2HepB | 3DTaP? | 3-4Hib® |4PCcvi3* |2IPV | 1MMR | 1VAR

19 months 3HepB | 4DTaP* | 3-4Hib® |4PCvi3* |3IPV | 1MMR | 1VAR | 1HepAS®
2 years 3HepB | 4DTaP? | 3-4Hib® |4PCVi3* |3IPV | 1MMR | 1VAR | 2Hep AS
4 years

(childcare and/or 4-K) | 3HepB | 4 DTaP? 3-4 Hib® | 4 PCv13* 3 1PV 1MMR | 1VAR | 2HepA’

Note: Children enrolled in grade 5K or greater and enrolled in a childcare facility (e.g., after school and/or
summer program) must meet the school immunization requirements and have a valid South Carolina
Certificate of Immunization on file at the childcare and school facilities.

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, “...no owner or operator of a public or private
childcare facility as defined in Section 63-13-20 may...enroll or retain a child or person who cannot
produce satisfactory evidence of having been vaccinated or immunized so often as directed by the
Department of Health and Environmental Control. Records of vaccinations or immunizations must be
maintained by the institution, school, or day care facility to which the child or person has been admitted.”

1 Minimum immunization requirement for childcare entry for all infants under 3 months of age.

2 Any combination of DTP, DT, or DTaP vaccine.

3 Haemophilus influenzae type b (HiB) 3 Dose Series (PedvaxHIB) — One dose by 3 months; second dose by 5
months and third dose by 16 months of age; OR 4 Dose Series (ActHIB, Hiberix, or Pentacel) — One dose by 3
months; second dose by 5 months; third dose by 7 months and fourth dose 16 months of age. For children 15 —59
months of age who have not yet completed an age-appropriate Hib vaccination series, one (1) dose of Hib vaccine
at or after 15 months of age is required. Hib vaccine is not required for children 5 years of age and older.

4 Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV13) — For children aged 24 — 59 months who have not yet completed any age-
appropriate pneumococcal vaccination, one (1) dose of PCV13 on or after the 2" birthday is required. PCV13 is not
required for children 5 years of age and older.

5 Hepatitis A (Hep A) — One dose must be administered no later than 18 months of age.
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REVISED: South Carolina Immunization Requirements for School 2022-2023
The following minimum requirements are necessary or a child to be admitted to any public, private or parochial school
in grades 5K-12.

Vaccine Grade Grade Level Requirement
Four (4) doses of any combination of DTP, DT, DTaP, Td or Tdap vaccine with at least one (1) dose
Diphtheria, received on or after the fourth birthday.
Tetanus, 5K-12 Refer to the currently published ACIP Catch-Up schedule for guidance regarding students who are
and behind.
Pertussis For children 7 years of age and older following a catch-up schedule, 3 doses may be acceptable.
One (1) dose of Tdap vaccine. This dose of Tdap may be included as one of the doses needed to
7 meet the requirement for Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis.
The vaccine must be given on or after the child’s 10*" birthday.
Tdap
Booster One (1) dose of Tdap vaccine. This dose of Tdap may be included as one of the doses needed to
8-12 meet the requirement for Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis.
The vaccine must be given on or after the child’s 7t birthday.
Three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at least one (1) dose received on or
5K-10 after the fourth birthday.
Three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at least one (1) dose received on or
Polio after the 4t birthday OR
11-12 Four (4) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine before the 4% birthday (if all doses were
separated by at least 4 weeks.
Follow CDC guidelines for students 18 years of age and older.
Measles, . . . .
Two (2) doses of MMR vaccine with both doses received on or after the 1% birthday and
Mumps
and 5K-12 separated by at least 4 weeks.
Rubella
Two (2) doses of Hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the 1% birthday and
Hepatitis A 5K-2 separated by at least 6 months.
Three (3) doses of Hepatitis B vaccine with the third dose received >24 weeks of age and at least
Hepatitis B 5K-12 16 weeks after the first dose.
Two (2) doses of varicella vaccine with both doses received on or after the 1% birthday and
5K-8 separated by at least 4 weeks (or a positive history of disease).
Varicella - - - - — -
One (1) dose of varicella vaccine received on or after the 1st birthday (or a positive history of
9-12 disease).

Note: Children enrolled in 4K programs and younger must meet the Childcare Requirements, even if attendance is
in a school setting. Children enrolled in 5K-12 grade must meet School Requirements. In general, titers may ONLY
be accepted as evidence of immunity to Measles, Mumps, Rubella and Varicella.

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 61-8, “no
superintendent of an institution of learning, no school board or principal of a school...may...enroll or retain a child
or person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence of having been vaccinated or immunized so often as directed
by the Department of Health and Environmental Control.... Records of vaccinations or immunizations must be
maintained by the institution, school, or day care facility to which the child or person has been admitted.”
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