
 

 
 

March 30, 2021 
 

To Whom it May Concern: 

Please review the South Carolina Immunization Requirements for Childcare and School for the 
2021-2022 school year. Included you will find general guidance and specific requirements for 
childcare and school attendance. 

Childcare and school immunization requirements are minimum requirements.  Several other 
vaccines are recommended to protect all children against diseases, but they are not required for 
childcare or school entry. We encourage you to recommend all age-appropriate vaccines for 
children. 

 

 
 

 
With the launch of the Statewide Immunization Online Network (SIMON) this past year, the 
current Immunization Certificate, the DHEC 4024 was implemented. The previous Immunization 
Certificate, the DHEC 2740, was phased out with the implementation of SIMON. However, due to 
the burden of COVID-19, we have extended the grace period to utilize the 2740 if needed until 
June 30, 2022. 

 
Doses documented on the SC Certificate of Immunization (DHEC 4024 or DHEC 2740) must be 
valid according to accepted practice standards. DHEC supports the provision of all recommended 
vaccines in accordance with the Advisory  Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and CDC 
General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization. 

 
We appreciate your continuing efforts to protect South Carolina children from vaccine- 
preventable diseases. Any questions may be directed to DHEC’s Immunization Division at 
800-277-4687 or immunize@dhec.sc.gov. 

 

  
Jonathon Knoche, MD,MPH,MSt Stephen M. White, MHA 
Medical Consultant, Division of Immunization Director, Division of Immunization 

 
 
 

 

Sincerely, 

Changes for the 2021-2022 School Year: 
7th grade has been added to the requirement for (2) doses of varicella. A child with a positive 
history of the disease is considered immune and is exempt from this requirement. 

 
9th grade has been added to the requirement for three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio 
vaccine with at least one (1) dose received on or after the fourth birthday. 
 
1st grade has been added to the requirement for 2 doses of Hepatitis A vaccine with both 
doses received on or after the first birthday and separated by at least 6 months. 
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General Guidance for South Carolina Immunization Requirements 
 

 
A valid South Carolina Certificate of Immunization for all enrolled children, 3 months of age and 
older, must be maintained by public and private childcare facilities (as defined in SC Code of 
Laws Section 63-13-20); public, private, and parochial schools, grades kindergarten through 
12th grade; and child development programs under the control of the Department of Education. 

 
South Carolina state law requires a valid SC Certificate of Immunization or valid exemption. 
Children without a valid certificate or exemption will not be allowed to attend childcare and/or 
school. Failure to comply with this law may result in audits and/or legal action. 

 
Doses documented on the immunization certificate must be valid doses according to accepted 
practice standards for the minimum age(s) and intervals, as well as all ACIP vaccine 
specific recommendations and CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization. 

 

For unvaccinated or incompletely vaccinated children, refer to currently published ACIP Catch- 
Up Schedule for number of doses necessary to complete the vaccine series and meet the 
requirement. 

 
Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 
61-8, students may be exempt from these immunization requirements for the following reasons: 

 
Medical Exemption: The Medical Exemption section of the SC Certificate of Immunization 
should only be completed when a child has a permanent or temporary medical reason for 
exclusion from receipt of vaccine(s). The Medical Exemption section must be completed by a 
licensed Physician (MD or DO) or his/her authorized representative (e.g. Physician’s Assistant 
or Advanced Practice Registered Nurse). For temporary medical exemptions, an expiration date 
in the future is documented when next immunizations are due. 

 
Religious Exemption: A religious exemption may be granted to any student whose parents, 
parent, guardian, or person in loco parentis signs the appropriate section of the South Carolina 
Certificate of Religious Exemption stating that one or more immunizations conflicts with their 
religious beliefs. The South Carolina Certificate of Religious Exemption can only be obtained 
from a DHEC health department. The parent or guardian must sign the DHEC form in the 
presence of a notary. This exemption may require renewal. 

 
Special Exemptions: A SC Certificate of Special Exemption may be issued by the school to a 
student that has been unable to secure immunizations or documentation of immunizations 
already received. This exemption is only valid for 30 calendar days for the current enrollment 
and may be issued only once. 

 
 

Resources: 
ACIP vaccine recommendations: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/index.html 
ACIP schedules https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/index.html 
CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization:  
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/general-recs/index.html 
Minimum ages and intervals 
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/A/age-interval-table.pdf  

http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/index.html
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/index.html
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/general-recs/index.html
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/A/age-interval-table.pdf
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South Carolina Immunization Requirements for Childcare 2021-2022 
 

The following minimum requirements are necessary for childcare. These requirements will be 
effective as of July 1, 2021. This includes preschool attendance for 4K programs and younger. 
An SC Certificate of Immunization with an expiration date is acceptable to allow for age- 
appropriate completion of vaccination series. No child can attend childcare or preschool for 
more than 30 days past the expiration date of the certificate. 

 
Vaccine Requirement 

Diphtheria, 
Tetanus and 
Pertussis 

 
Four (4) doses of any combination of DTP, DT, or DTaP vaccine. 

Polio Three (3) doses of any combination of oral or inactivated polio vaccine 

 
Haemophilus 
influenza 
Type b (Hib) 

Current, age-appropriate Hib vaccination according to the currently published 
immunization schedule. For children 15-59 months of age who have not yet 
completed age-appropriate Hib vaccination, one (1) dose of Hib vaccine at or after 
15 months of age is required. 
Hib vaccine is not required for children 5 years of age and older. 

Measles, 
Mumps and 
Rubella 

 
One (1) dose of MMR vaccine received on or after the first birthday 

 
Hepatitis A 

2 doses of Hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday 
and separated by at least 6 months for any child born on or after January 1, 2019. 
Vaccine series must be started by 18 months of age. 

Hepatitis B Three (3) doses of hepatitis B vaccine with the third dose received >24 weeks of 
age and at least 16 weeks after the first dose 

Varicella One (1) dose of varicella vaccine received on or after the first birthday or positive 
history of disease 

 
 
Pneumococcal 

Current, age-appropriate pneumococcal vaccination according to the currently 
published immunization schedule. For children aged 24-59 months who have not 
yet completed any age-appropriate pneumococcal vaccination, one (1) dose of 
PCV13 on or after the 2nd birthday is required. 
Pneumococcal vaccine is not required for children 5 years of age and older. 

 

Please note: Children enrolled in grade 5K or greater and enrolled in a childcare facility (e.g., 
after school and/or summer program) must meet school immunization requirements and have a 
valid SC Certificate of Immunization on file at the childcare and school facility. 

 
 

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, “…no owner or operator of a 
public or private childcare facility as defined in Section 63-13-20 may…enroll or retain a child or 
person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence of having been vaccinated or immunized so 
often as directed by the Department of Health and Environmental Control. Records of 
vaccinations or immunizations must be maintained by the institution, school or day care facility 
to which the child or person has been admitted.” 
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South Carolina Immunization Requirements for School 2021-2022 
 

The following minimum immunization requirements are necessary for a child to be admitted to 
any public, private, or parochial school, grades 5K-12: 

 
 

Vaccine Grade Grade Level Requirement 
 
Diphtheria, 
Tetanus and 
Pertussis 

 
 

5K-12 

Four (4) doses of any combination of DTP, DT, DTaP, Td, or Tdap vaccine 
with at least one (1) dose received on or after the fourth birthday. Refer to 
the currently published ACIP Catch Up Schedule for guidance on 
recommendations for students who are behind. For children 7 years of age 
and older following a catch up schedule, 3 doses may be acceptable. 

 
Tdap 
Booster 

 
7-12 

One (1) dose of Tdap vaccine received on or after the 7th birthday 
 
This dose of Tdap may be included as one of the doses needed to meet the 
requirement for Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis. 

 
 
 
Polio 

 
5K-9 Three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at least one (1) 

dose received on or after the fourth birthday 

 
 

10-12 

Three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) with at least 
one (1) dose received on or after the 4th birthday OR four (4) doses of oral 
and/or inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) before 4th birthday (if all doses 
separated by at least 4 weeks) 
Follow CDC recommendations for students 18 years of age and older 

Measles, 
Mumps and 
Rubella 

 
5K - 12 

 
Two (2) doses of MMR vaccine with both doses received on or after the first 
birthday and separated by at least 4 weeks 

 
Hepatitis A 

 
5K-1 

 
2 doses of Hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the first 
birthday and separated by at least 6 months. 

Hepatitis B 5K - 12 Three (3) doses of hepatitis B vaccine, with the third dose received >24 
weeks of age and at least 16 weeks after the first dose 

 

Varicella 
5K - 7 Two (2) doses of varicella vaccine with both doses received on or after the 

first birthday and separated by at least 4 weeks or a positive history of disease. 

8-12 
One (1) dose of varicella vaccine received on or after the first birthday or 
positive history of disease 

 

Please note: 
• Children enrolled in 4K programs and younger must meet Childcare Requirements, even 

if attendance is in a school setting. 
• Children enrolled in 5K through Grade 12 must meet School Requirements. 
• In general, titers may only be accepted as evidence of immunity to Measles, Mumps, 

Rubella, and Varicella 
 

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 
61-8, “no superintendent of an institution of learning, no school board or principal of a 
school…may…enroll or retain a child or person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence of 
having been vaccinated or immunized so often as directed by the Department of Health and 
Environmental Control…. Records of vaccinations or immunizations must be maintained by the 
institution, school or day care facility to which the child or person has been admitted.” 
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