2016-2017 REQUIRED STANDARDS OF IMMUNIZATION FOR SCHOOL ATTENDANCE

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 61-8, “no superintendent of an institution
of learning, no school board or principal of a school...may...enroll or retain a child or person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence
of having been vaccinated or immunized so often as directed by the Department of Health and Environmental Control.... Records of
vaccinations or immunizations must be maintained by the institution, school or day care facility to which the child or person has been

admitted.”

The Department of Health and Environmental Control has declared the following minimum immunization requirements are necessary
for a child to be admitted to any public, private, or parochial school, grades five-year-old kindergarten through twelve (5K-12):

Minimum Requirements:"®

Vaccine for:

Grade Level Requirements:

Grade Grade level requirements apply to all students entering or retained in the grades specified.
. . 5K-12 Four (4) doses of any combination of DTP, DT, DTaP, Td, or Tdap vaccine with at least one (1) dose received on
Diphtheria, Tetanus fter the fourth birthdav?
and Pertussis orafter the fou irthday
One (1) dose of Tdap vaccine received on or after the 7" birthday?
Tdap Booster 7-10 If necessary, this dose of Tdap may be included as one of the doses needed
to meet the requirement for Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis noted above.
Three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at least one (1) dose received on or after the fourth
4 5K-4 birthday
Polio
Three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) with at least one (12 dose received on or after the 4"
5-12 birthday OR four (4) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) before 4™ birthday (if all doses separated
by at least 4 weeks) - Follow CDC recommendations for students 18 years of age and older’
Rubeola (Measles) Two (2) doses of rubeola (Measles) vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday and separated
by at least 4 weeks
Rubella 5K — 12
(German Measles) One (1) dose of rubella (German Measles) vaccine received on or after the first birthday
Mumps One (1) dose of mumps vaccine received on or after the first birthday
Hepatitis B 5K — 12 Thre_e (3) doses of hepatitis B vaccine with the third dose received >24 weeks of age and at least 16 weeks after
the first dose
Varicella 5K -2 Two (2) doses of varicella vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday and separated by at least
! 4 weeks or a positive history of disease.
3-12

One (1) dose of varicella vaccine received on or after the first birthday or positive history of disease

"When issuing a South Carolina Certificate of Immunization, doses documented on the immunization certificate must be valid according
to accepted practice standards for minimum age(s) and intervals.

2For unvaccinated or incompletely vaccinated children 7 years of age and older, refer to currently published ACIP Catch-Up Schedule
for number of doses necessary to complete diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis series and meet this requirement.

*Tdap is routinely administered at 11-12 years of age; however, a dose administered on or after the seventh birthday will meet this

requirement.

“Routine vaccination of persons 18 years of age and older who reside in the United States is not necessary or recommended, unless in
the following high risk categories: 1) traveler to areas where poliomyelitis is endemic or epidemic; 2) laboratory worker handling
specimens that may contain polioviruses; or 3) healthcare worker who has close contact with patients who might be excreting wild

polioviruses.

SPursuant to Section 44-29-1 80, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 61-8, students may be exempt
from these immunization requirements for the following reasons:

Medical Exemption: The Medical Exemption section of the SC Certificate of Immunization should only be completed when a child has
a permanent or temporary medical reason for exclusion from receipt of vaccine(s). The Medical Exemption section must be completed
by a licensed Physician (MD or DO) or his/her authorized representative (e.g. Physician’s Assistant - PA, or Advanced Practice
Registered Nurse - APRN).
Religious Exemption: A religious exemption may be granted to any student whose parents, parent, guardian, or person in loco paren-

tis signs the appropriate section of the South Carolina Certificate of Religious Exemption stating that one or more immunizations con-
flicts with their religious beliefs. The South Carolina Certificate of Religious Exemption can only be obtained from the Department of

Health and Environmental Control

Special Exemptions: A South Carolina Certificate of Special Exemption, signed by the school principal or his/her authorized repre-

sentative, may be issued to transfer students while awaiting arrival of medical records from their former area of residence or to other
students who have been unable to secure immunizations or documentation of immunizations already received. This exemption may be
issued only once and is valid for only thirty (30) calendar days from the date of enroliment. Upon expiration of this special exemption,
the student must present a valid South Carolina Certificate of Immunization or a valid South Carolina Certificate of Religious Exemption.
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