Catherine E. Heigel, Director

Promoting and protecting the health of the public and the environment
January 2016
Dear Parents/Guardians:

The Tdap vaccine protects children from three serious diseases: tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis (whooping
cough). It is recommended that all children receive one (1) dose of Tdap vaccine at age 11 or 12. Tdap is one of
four vaccines recommended for children to receive at age 11 or 12. The other three recommended vaccines are
human papilloma virus (HPV) vaccine, meningococcal vaccine (MCV4) and a yearly flu vaccine.

South Carolina state law requires that students must show proof of receiving one (1) dose of the Tdap vaccine at the
start of their seventh-grade school year or they will be subject to suspension. The South Carolina Department of
Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) is working with your school district and the VaxCare Corporation to
provide Tdap vaccine to current sixth graders at your child’s school in the spring of 2016. Our upcoming school
clinic is a convenient way to get your child the Tdap vaccine and meet the seventh grade vaccination requirements.

To help make your child’s Tdap vaccine as affordable as possible, if your child has:
e Medicaid: your child’s Medicaid will be billed.
e No health insurance: you will receive a bill from DHEC for $13.
e Private health insurance: your child’s insurance company will be billed. If insurance does not cover the
vaccine, you will receive a bill from VaxCare or DHEC, not to exceed $50 per dose.

If you would like your child to get a Tdap vaccine at school:

1. Read the Vaccine Information Statement (VIS) to learn more about the Tdap vaccine. The VIS, the DHEC and
VaxCare Privacy Notices, and more information about our school Tdap vaccine clinics can be found at
www.scdhec.gov/Tdap. Your school’s nurse can also provide you with the paper copies of these forms.

2. Complete both sides of the Parent Consent Form. Please print and use black ink. Your answers to the health
questions on the form will help us decide if your child is able to get the Tdap shot at school.

3. Return the Consent Form to the school within five (5) days of receiving this letter. Please do not attach a
check or cash to the consent form.

Once you have returned the Parent Consent Form, please contact the DHEC Regional Immunization Office for
your county (refer to list on the back of this letter) before the scheduled vaccination clinic, if any of the following
events occur:

e There are any significant changes in your child’s health.

¢ You decide you no longer want your child to receive the Tdap vaccine at school.

If your child has not yet received the Tdap vaccine, please take advantage of this opportunity. Talk to your child’s
health care provider or contact your local DHEC health department to obtain the other three recommended
vaccines.

Sincerely,

Tuew 4 T, MDA

Teresa Foo MD, MPH
Medical Consultant, Division of Immunization and Prevention
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DHEC Regional Immunization Office Contact Information:

« For parents of children in participating schools in Allendale, Bamberg, Beaufort, Berkeley,
Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Hampton, Jasper, and Orangeburg counties,
please call (843) 953-0080.

« For parents of children in participating schools in Aiken, Barnwell, Chester, Edgefield,
Fairfield, Kershaw, Lancaster, Lexington, Newberry, Richland, Saluda, York counties,
please call (803) 320-2467.

« For parents of children in participating schools in Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee,
Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, Union
counties, please call (864) 596-2227 Ext. 246.

« For parents of children in participating schools in Chesterfield, Clarendon, Darlington,
Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Sumter, Williamsburg
counties, please call (843) 673-6570.



